Civil Services Exam: (IAS)

Civil Services Examination is one of the most competitive and prestigious exam, popularly known as IAS is conducted by UPSC to recruit candidates for Indian Administrative Service, Indian Foreign Service, Indian Police Service and several other Group 'A' and Group 'B' Central Services/ Posts. Civil Services offers premier job opportunities and challenging career. The selected candidates play a major role in managing the bureaucracy of both the central and the state governments, holding strategic posts across the country. 

These candidates recruited as officers are involved in various responsibilities like framing of the policies, implementation, law and order, general administration, development of new projects etc. These officers will get a chance to work as authoritative posts like Sub-Divisional Magistrate, District Magistrate, Divisional Commissioner, Principal Secretaries/Financial Commissioners, Chief Secretary of state or central government. The Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT), under Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pension, is the cadre controlling authority Civil Services examination is conducted for the recruitment of below mentioned services. All appointments to Civil Services are made by the President of India. Civil Services examination is a single window entry for various Group A and Group B services. These services/posts will be allotted as per the ranking Group

A Services

1. Indian Administrative Service
2. Indian Foreign Service
3. Indian Police Service
4. Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service
5. Indian Audit and Accounts Service
6. Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise)
7. Indian Defense Accounts Service
8. Indian Revenue Service (I.T.)
9. Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Assistant Works Manager, Administration)
10. Indian Postal Service
11. Indian Civil Accounts Service
12. Indian Railway Traffic Service
13. Indian Railway Accounts Service
14. Indian Railway Personnel Service
15. Indian Railway Protection Force (Assistant Security Commissioner)
16. Indian Defense Estates Service
17. Indian Information Service (Junior Grade)
18. Indian Trade Service, Group 'A' (Gr. III)
19. Indian Corporate Law Services

Group B Services

1. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service (Section Officer's Grade)
2. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service
3. Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service
4. Pondicherry Civil Service
5. Pondicherry Police Service



1. For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, a candidate must be a citizen of India.
2. For other services, a candidate must be either:a. a citizen of India, or
3. b. a subject of Nepal, or
4. c. a subject of Bhutan, or
5. d. a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or
6. e. a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India. Provided that a candidate belonging to categories b, c, d, e shall be a person in whose favor a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the government of India. Provided further that candidates belonging to categories b, c, d above will not be eligible for appointment to the Indian Foreign Service. A candidate in whose case a certificate of eligibility is necessary, may be admitted to the examination but the offer of appointment may be given only after the necessary eligibility certificate has been issued to him/her by the government of India.